top of page
Search

WRITING SONGS NO MATTER WHERE...

Updated: Apr 26, 2020

Made a post this morning on my Facebook page about writing a song while waiting on line to get bagels.


Apparently, I'm a comedian.


Songs and riffs will hit me when I least expect them to. If I sit with a guitar in my hands and nothing happens, that's okay but sometimes traces of doubt will enter my brain like "Maybe you can't write today?" But of course, there I was at 7am getting bagels and these riffs jumped into my frontal lobe. Raced home and recorded the ideas quickly on my hand-held digital recorder. And for a hastily-recorded demo, it didn't come out half-bad.


I have lots of guitar-only rough demos from as far back as December 2018. I thought a new album would emerge in 2019, then this year...but with five planets retrograding (ugh), it's best that I sit on these demos for a while longer. So far this year is definitely the strangest all of us are encountering. At least I am getting a month to the gallon.


But speaking of strange, my song "Slippery Gypsy" debuted at #6 on Radio TFSC in Germany. What makes that strange? The song is almost five years old! That station has been playing a few more songs from LAYERS OF TIME (which "Slippery" is from) as well as MARBLEHEAD. Another station in Vernon, NJ (Vernon FM 107.9) has been putting some of my music on the air as well. For a while, none of the songs were being touched anywhere. Guess that happens when you walk away from the music industry, right? But lo and behold, things seem to be slowly brimming to the surface.


Also, of note, CD Baby closed its online store so I had to put my cds (downloads) on Distrokid. I already had MARBLEHEAD and REFURBISHED on there but now people will soon see GO BERZERK!, LAYERS OF TIME, and the single "Quicker Than The Devil". Distrokid streams and sells on platforms such as iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, iHeart Radio, Pandora, etc. Since 95% of the world streams, this is the only way people will get to hear any music, not just mine. But I am suddenly seeing LAYERS being ordered through Amazon (they still had hard copies?!) and I think GB! is on Amazon too in physical form. I honestly thought everything was sold out, save for downloads. Hey, if people are finding my music years after it was recorded, fine with me. After all, with the way the world is, everyone are experiencing the reminiscing bump. Maybe my songs will remind people of "the quarantine of 2020."


If "Turn To Rust" becomes the soundtrack for that, no complaints here!

Funky flyer to promote my music...


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page