top of page
Search

WHERE DO I EVEN BEGIN?

As I sit here typing this, all I can ask is the question that is the title of this blog. Another question I can ask is, "When can I go back?!"


I had not been to NAMM in Anaheim since 2014. That time I went as a sales rep, but this time I went as an "exhibitor artist" for Ibanez. Been an endorser with them since 2003, so in dog years, that's a long time. I can write a LONG thread here but will try to keep it short enough so you are not bored out of your skull. (I made a short video that's on the HOME page if you want to see who I met up with. No name-dropping from me, don't worry.)


Was exhilarating and exhausting just the same. Four days is simply not enough to see everything and everyone, but is also plenty as everyone complained (in a funny way) about their legs and feet being sore and numb from so much walking. My motel was 2 miles away from the venue so I didn't mind the hike. But inside the convention center...I think I walked around more in four days than in my 50 years on Earth. I would feel fatigued and then rejuvenated with a slice of pizza or hot dog (everything is mad expensive!!)


Being around all that gear though...whew! NAMM is definitely Toys R Us for grown-ups who never grew up in the first place. Everything was happening so fast, was hard to keep up at times. But as I sit here typing away (and it's FREEZING in New Jersey!), all I can think is "Wow, that was FAST!" One minute I am Cali-bound, next I am back here in reality.


So much for a short blog, huh?

This is Mitzi Lane, sister of the late great Shawn Lane. Had a simple chat with her and then she asked me to be in a documentary about her brother. Of course I obliged! Was truly a humbling experience. Can't wait to see who else is going to be in it too!

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page