top of page
Search

DIDN'T FEEL LIKE THREE YEARS

Drove down to the Brighton Bar yesterday to see The Inversion Circus perform. Yes, live music! Who saw that coming?


What's more: Who saw ME get out of the house?!


Some of you may recall that the drummer and bassist in said band performed on my 2018 cd MARBLEHEAD. But a year before, my trio opened for IC at their cd release party at Brighton Bar. Yes, I had not been there since 2017!! Didn't feel like three years slipped by.


Because of the way the world is, the show was outdoors (perfect weather!), limited seating, and they were the only band to perform. Street was blocked off, which was a smart move. Was nice to see people moving out and about, enjoying the sunny day and wanting to hear live playing. IC played a great set, looked very relaxed, nice time overall. Good to see some friends I'd not seen in a while.


One in particular said to me, "You look very relaxed since walking away from performing." He was right. In the past, I would have been jealous watching other bands. Now I can enjoy things again. I don't have to worry about selling tickets or dealing with peripherals that would give me anxiety. Breathing is good, yes? The owner of the bar even told me "I don't blame you for stopping. But you're one of the best around, you'll be back."


For a new album, yes.


Live shows? Nope.

The inside looks sad for now but will be hopping soon!!

How I missed this place! Been coming here since 1993




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page